Digital Artifact – Bibliography

For our second assignment we are asked to create an annotated bibliography, so without further adieu, here it is!

These are all the sources I have used thus far in my creation of The Lyric Hero, a twitter bot which reply’s to song lyrics and can tell you what song they are from.

 

  1. https://github.com/

GitHub is a web-based Git repository hosting service. It offers a site where programmers can come and share their code for others to use. They codes are open sourced, and it is free to use GitHub, which means it is widely accessible to everyone.

The codes I use from this site are pre-existing twitter bots that others have coded. I chop and change the code myself to get the outcome I want. People also put up tutorials on GitHub, as it is a very effective way to display and convey code.

2.  https://botwiki.org/tutorials/twitterbots/

My second source is a tutorial for making a generic twitter bot. This tutorial goes through some basic steps you need to do to create one. They have many different tutorials on this page depending on the route you are taking with your bot. For me, I paid particular attention to the node.js beginner tutorial as that is the program I am using. This tutorial was actually very informative for me because it set in place some stepping stones that I can build on as I gather more and more information about how I am going to create my Twitter bot.

3. http://readwrite.com/2014/06/20/random-non-sequitur-twitter-bot-instructions/

My next source is another tutorial in regards to my digital artefact. The reason I have so many of these on my list is because I truly did need to gather information from a variety of sources in order to understand exactly how I was going to implement my ideas and create my digital artefact.

This tutorial featured very clear instructions and also a visually appealing header in order to draw attention. It also names a number of other twitter bots as an example to what is achievable.

4. http://www.labnol.org/internet/write-twitter-bot/27902/

My fourth source is an article called “How to Write a Twitter Bot in 5 Minutes” and as you can tell by the title, it communicates a very simple process to create a twitter bot. Unfortunately, this means using their program. They offer a premium service, and a free service, and the free service does not give the creator much freedom as to how the bot performs.

The premium service gives the creator more power, but one could argue that you could forgo the payment by just learning the jargon and skills yourself.

5. https://twittercommunity.com/t/how-to-make-a-twitterbot/2884

My fifth source is, yep you guessed it, another tutorial! So this one is actually a forum post by someone just like me, who is having trouble coding their Twitter bot. The answers in this thread helped me out with a number of my problems too, and this is why I am including it as a source in this annotated bibliography. The first comment is by a user describing how he created his own twitter bot. This was helpful as it provided some technical support to some questions that I had.

6. http://twitter.com

Twitter is the site that I wish to host the bot on, as it has the ability to create apps. A Twitter bot is basically a twitter app that you program. There are many resources online to help me throughout my process of creating the bot, as there are so many bots out there.

As I am only a beginner in coding/programming, this seemed like the most logical way to go about creating my digital artefact, as there are so many online resources available. Through examination of different bots, I gathered be a better understanding of how I wanted my bot to perform.

7. https://twitter.com/uowparking

My seventh source is another twitter bot that has helped me in terms of inspiration; the UOW parking bot. This bot conveniently blasts out a tweet every half an hour to an hour, about how many parking spots are left in each of the different parking bays at UOW. This bot is coded in quite an interesting way; as it changes its response time when it is not peak hours. This way it maximises its scope of interaction with its intended audience.

As this year has been particularly hectic with the parking situation, this app has become a very helpful tool.

8. https://twitter.com/DearAssistant

This twitter bot is one I have analysed in order to give me a better insight on what I hope to achieve with my digital artefact. This Twitter bot answers when it is mentioned, giving answers to questions it is asked. It is able to perform simple google searches, and this is what I hope to achieve with my bot.

Although this bot does not always get the questions right, it’s still impressive that an act of googling can be automated, through a site such as Twitter.

9. http://www.zachwhalen.net/posts/how-to-make-a-twitter-bot-with-google-spreadsheets-version-04/

I have planned to use a program called Node.JS to write my code and program my bod, as it is the easiest form I have found for a beginner coder like me. This blog post effectively demonstrates how to create a Twitter bot through google spreadsheets, which was interesting to read as it provided an alternative route to my end goal.

I have already planned to use JavaScript as a basis for my bot, so this source helped me just to see another side of the process that I need to follow.

10. http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/15-cmd-commands-every-windows-user-know/

In order to create my Twitter bot, I need to use the Command Prompt on my windows laptop. At first, I had absolutely no idea how to use it or know any of the functions I needed to make sure my bot was working. So, I looked it up on google and this page is quite possibly one of the most useful I have come across. It taught me then basic functions I needed to know, and many more. The layout is simple and effective and I had no trouble navigating it. It served its purpose well.

Leave a Reply

